Our Board

Board of Directors
Elected county board chairpersons and representatives, and mayors and large city councilperson / alderperson comprise 26 of the 36 Bi-State Commissioners. Appointed citizens representing business, business loans, housing, human services, labor, diversity and riverfront planning, make up the 10 non-elected board positions.

Carol Earnhardt, Chair
Ken "Moose" Maranda, Vice-Chair
Kathy Carroll-Duda, Secretary
Bob Gallagher, Treasurer

Municipal Representatives

City of Davenport
Frank Klipsch - Mayor
Kerri Tompkins - Alderperson
JJ Condon - Alderperson
Randy Moore - Citizen

City of Rock Island
Mike Thoms - Mayor
David Geenen - Alderperson

City of Moline
Stephanie Acri - Mayor
Mike Waldron - Alderperson

City of Bettendorf
Bob Gallagher - Mayor

City of East Moline
Reggie Freeman - Mayor

City of Muscatine
Diana Broderson - Mayor

City of Kewanee
Steve Looney - Mayor

City of Silvis; Villages of Andalusia, Carbon Cliff, Coal Valley, Cordova, Hampton, Hillsdale, Milan, Oak Grove, Port Byron, and Rapids City
Duane Dawson - Mayor, Milan
Cities of Aledo, Colona, Galva, Geneseo; Villages of Alpha, Andover, Annawan, Atkinson, Cambridge, New Boston, Orion, Sherrard, Viola, Windsor, and Woodhull
Kathy Carroll-Duda - Mayor, Geneseo
Cities of Blue Grass, Buffalo, Eldridge, Fruitland, LeClaire, Long Grove, McCausland, Princeton, Riverdale, Walcott, West Liberty, and Wilton
Marty O'Boyle - Mayor, Eldridge

County Representatives

Henry County
Roger Gradert, Chair
Erik Brown, Member
Rex Kiser, Member

Muscatine County
Scott Sauer, Chair
Nathan Mather, Member

Rock Island County
Ken "Moose" Maranda, Chair
Kim Callaway-Thompson, Member
Scott Terry, Member
Elizabeth Sherwin, Citizen
Scott County
Tony Knobbe, Chair
Ken Beck, Member
Carol Earnhardt, Member
Jazmin Newton-Butt, Citizen

Program Representatives
Ralph H. Heninger
Jerry Lack
Nathaniel Lawrence
Marcy Mendenhall
Rick Schloemer
Bill Stoermer
Jim Tank

What we do

Member Services Brochure, Web VersionBi-State is: A local, voluntary organization of 5 counties and 44 municipalities. Bi-State is not: Another layer or higher authority of government; nor is Bi-State created, controlled, or maintained by the federal or state governments.

To view the web version of the brochure, click on the link below or the picture to the right.
pdf 2017-09-bsrc-mem-serv-broch-web.pdf (1.22 MB)

To download the printable version of the brochure, click the link below.
pdf 2017-09-bsrc-mem-serv-broch-print.pdf (3.67 MB)

Who we are

Mission Statement
To serve as a forum for intergovernmental cooperation and delivery of regional programs and to assist member local governments in planning and project development.

The Bi-State Regional Commission is:
A local, voluntary organization of five counties and 44 municipalities.

The Bi-State Regional Commission is Not:
Another layer or higher authority of government; nor is Bi-State created, controlled or maintained by the federal or state governments.

The Beginning
The Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Commission was created in 1966 through the merger of the Scott County (IA) Metropolitan Planning Commission and the Rock Island County (IL) Regional Planning Commission. This merger took place, in part, in response to the Federal Aid Highway Act of 1962 which required transportation planning in metropolitan areas to be done cooperatively. In 1974, the Henry County (IL) Regional Planning Commission merged with Bi-State, at the urging of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and Henry County's status as part of the three county Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), as defined by the Census Bureau. Then in 1976, Mercer County (IL) and Muscatine County (IA) joined Bi-State.

Authority Granted:
County Boards, city councils and village boards enter into an agreement designating Bi-State as the regional planning commission by virtue of the powers granted to them by Chapter 50, Act 15/0.01 et seq., Chapter 55, ILCS 5/5-14001 et seq., Illinois Compiled Statues, 1992; and Chapters 28E, 28H and 28I, Code of Iowa, 1993.

Local Governments Share the Cost:

Member counties and cities over 5,000 population pay dues prorated, based on their total population ranging from $2,917 to $77,355. Smaller cities and villages pay a flat rate of approximately $1,102. Total annual dues of approximately $393,000 help bring in nearly $740,000 in federal and state funds which, with contractual services, provide for a $2 million budget in FY 2017.

pdf bi-state-regional-commission-fy18-budget-plan.pdf (632 KB)