Purpose. The Drug and Alcohol Testing Consortium (DATC) was formed to offer drug and alcohol testing services to member employees in the Bi-State Region.  It applies to employees covered under the U.S. Department of Transportation requirements implementing the Omnibus Transportation Employee Testing Act of 1991 and the laws of the states of Iowa and Illinois.  Federal Transit Administration and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration establish regulations that require commercially licensed (CDL) drivers to participate in drug and alcohol testing to promote traffic safety in the transportation industry.

Membership. Each entity must sign a resolution and agree to adhere to the cooperative agreement and by-laws that apply to the Consortium.  It is mutually understood and agreed that the Consortium members wishing to take part in this program must agree and adhere to the policies and procedures established by the Consortium as a condition of their membership in the Consortium. 

Services. Each participant receives initial and pre-employment  testing, post-accident testing, random testing, reasonable suspicion testing, return-to-duty testing, and  follow-up testing.  The Consortium functions to coordinate goals in fulfilling the federal/state regulations, provide a sampling pool for covered employees, purchase required services jointly, coordinate and share administrative activities, and maximize the available resources in the Iowa-Illinois Bi-State area to meet these federal requirements.

Meetings.  DATC meets at least once per year to review the contracted testing services, and more frequently with renewal of services contracts.  Bi-State Regional Commission provides staff to monitor the random draws and provide information on the program, training opportunities, and updates in regulations as available.  A DATC chair and vice-chair aid in the administration of the program and preside over the meetings.

Participants.  DATC participants include municipalities, counties, townships, public school districts, public transit systems, and not-for-profit corporations that provide transportation in the geographic area of Muscatine and Scott Counties, Iowa and Henry, Mercer, and Rock Island Counties, Illinois.  Two members have business addresses within this coverage area but are providing services outside the Bi-State Region.

Current DATC members include:

Abilities Plus Alba Township Alwood CUSD #225
Andover Township Annawan Township Bettendorf CSD
Bowling Township Buffalo Prairie Township Cambridge CUSD #227
Cambridge Township City of Bettendorf City of Blue Grass
City of Davenport City of Durant City of East Moline
City of Eldridge City of Kewanee City of Muscatine
City of Silvis City of Wilton Clover Township
Coe Township Drury Township East Moline School District
Edgington Township Eliza Township Galva CUSD #224
Galva Township Greene Township Hampton Township
Hanna Township Henry County Highway Department Kewanee High School
Lynn Township Mercer County Highway Department Mercer Township
Munson Road District Muscatine County North Scott CUSD
Orion CUSD #223 Osco Township Oxford Township
Perryton Township Preemption Township Project NOW
Project NOW Senior Center Riverbend Transit Riverdate CUSD #100
Rivoli Township Rock Island County Highway Department Rock Island County Forest Preserve
Rural Township Scott County Silvis CUSD #34
Suez Township United Township High School Village of Atkinson
Village of Hampton Village of Milan Village of Orion
Weller Township Western Township Wethersfield CUSD #230
Wilton Community School Wilton Municipal Light& Power