Quad Cities Metro Transportation Planning
Bi-State Regional Commission is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Davenport IA-IL urbanized area.  Bi-State staff prepare transportation plans for the urbanized area, commonly known as the Quad Cities, Iowa/Illinois. Transportation planning in the urban area is a coordinated and continuing process.  Its purpose is to assist communities in the implementation of transportation improvements, both short and long term. This type of planning is required before federal funds can be spent on transportation projects – streets, public transit, or bicycle facilities. Planning before implementation has the added benefit of providing a technical means of prioritizing transportation needs and aligning these priorities with available funding. Roadways, transit, railroads, waterways, airports, trails and intermodal facilities are all considered in the planning process. Local, state, and federal jurisdictions work together with support from Bi-State staff to develop planning and programming recommendations for transportation improvements. In the Quad Cities Urbanized Area, recommendations are considered by the Transportation Policy Committee composed of chief elected officials of cities and counties, Illinois and Iowa State Departments of Transportation, and the Illinois Quad Cities transit district.

Quad Cities MPO Transportation Policy Committee
In the interest of effective and efficient functioning of the Bi-State Regional Commission, delegated authority groups have been established from time to time by the Commission to expedite specific business and planning activities.  The Commission has established specific guidelines or limits within the delegated authority groups.  The Transportation Policy Committee is responsible for transportation planning and programming for the Davenport, IA/IL Urbanized Area.  Refer to the Meetings menu for Transportation Policy Committee meetings’ calendar of dates, times and location.
Membership – Membership is as follows:
County Board Chair, Rock Island County, Illinois
County Board Chair, Scott County, Iowa
Mayor, City of Bettendorf, Iowa*
Mayor, City of Davenport, Iowa*
Mayor, City of East Moline, Illinois
Mayor, City of Moline, Illinois
Mayor, City of Rock Island, Illinois
Region Engineer, Illinois Department of Transportation
District Planner, Iowa Department of Transportation
Two Aldermen, City of Davenport
Board Chair, Rock Island County Metropolitan Mass Transit District (Metro)
Caucused “chief elected official,” Iowa-side small communities
Caucused “chief elected official,” Illinois-side small communities
Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration – Iowa Division (ex-officio, non-voting)
Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration – Illinois Division (ex-officio, non-voting)
Administrator, Federal Transit Administration – Region VII Division (ex-officio, non-voting)
*Respective mayors represent transit interests of Bettendorf Transit and Davenport CitiBus

pdf 2019-transportation-policy-committee-membership-list.pdf (272 KB)

Refer to the Meetings menu on the above navigation bar for the Transportation Policy Committee meeting page including a calendar of dates, times, and location, and for agendas and minutes.

Quad Cities MPO Technical and Advisory Committees
Technical and advisory committees work to assist the Commission and its delegated authority groups, such as the Transportation Policy Committee, in each of its major planning efforts.  The committees are composed of local citizens and city, county, state, and federal technical personnel concerned with daily operations affected by any plans developed.  The technical committees are responsible for technical review and guidance of data collection and analysis, plan preparation, and plan review and update functions.  Technical and advisory committees that assist the Transportation Policy Committee include the Transportation Technical Committee, Bi-State Regional Trails Committee, Bi-State Technology and Safety Technical Committee, the Regional Transit Interest and Advisory Group, the Bi-State Region Air Quality Task Force, and the Regional Transportation Advisory Group.  Refer to the Meetings menu for a calendar of meeting dates, times and locations for these groups.

Refer to the Meetings menu on the above navigation bar for the Transportation Technical Committee meeting page including a calendar of dates, times, and location, and for agendas and minutes.

Notice of the Public's Rights Under Title VI
Bi-State Regional Commission is committed to ensuring that no person is excluded from participation in or denied the benefits of its services on the basis of race, color, or national origin as protected by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended (“Title VI”)

To request more information regarding Title VI requirements, you may contact the Title VI Coordinator at Bi-State Regional Commission. This office is located at 1504 Third Avenue, Rock Island, Illinois or you may contact by phone at (309) 793-6300.

If you believe you have been subjected to discrimination under Title VI, you may file a written complaint at the Bi-State Regional Commission office.

Notificación de los Derechos para el Público Bajo Titulo VI
Bi-State Regional Commission está obligado a asegurar que ninguna persona sea excluída de participar en o se le niegan beneficios a sus servicios en báse a raza, color, origen nacional, como protegidos por el Titulo VI de los Derechos Civiles del Acta de 1964 como amendados (“Titulo VI”).

Para pedir mayor información relacionada con los mandatos del Titulo VI, usted deberá ponerse en contacto con el Coordinador del Titulo VI en Bi-State Regional Commission.  Esta oficina esta localizada en 1504 Third Avenue, Rock Island, Illinois o póngase en contacto por teléfono con el (309) 793-6300.

Si usted piensa que ha sido sujeto a una descriminación bajo el Titulo VI, usted puede registrar una queja por escrito a la oficina de Bi-State Regional Commission.