Purpose. The Drug and Alcohol Testing Consortium (DATC) was formed to offer drug and alcohol testing services to member employees in the Bi-State Region.  It applies to employees covered under the U.S. Department of Transportation requirements implementing the Omnibus Transportation Employee Testing Act of 1991 and the laws of the states of Iowa and Illinois.  Federal Transit Administration and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration establish regulations that require commercially licensed (CDL) drivers to participate in drug and alcohol testing to promote traffic safety in the transportation industry.

Membership. Each entity must sign a resolution and agree to adhere to the cooperative agreement and by-laws that apply to the Consortium.  It is mutually understood and agreed that the Consortium members wishing to take part in this program must agree and adhere to the policies and procedures established by the Consortium as a condition of their membership in the Consortium. 

Services. Each participant receives initial and pre-employment  testing, post-accident testing, random testing, reasonable suspicion testing, return-to-duty testing, and  follow-up testing.  The Consortium functions to coordinate goals in fulfilling the federal/state regulations, provide a sampling pool for covered employees, purchase required services jointly, coordinate and share administrative activities, and maximize the available resources in the Iowa-Illinois Bi-State area to meet these federal requirements.

Meetings.  DATC meets at least once per year to review the contracted testing services, and more frequently with renewal of services contracts.  Bi-State Regional Commission provides staff to monitor the random draws and provide information on the program, training opportunities, and updates in regulations as available.  A DATC chair and vice-chair aid in the administration of the program and preside over the meetings.

Participants.  DATC participants include municipalities, counties, townships, public school districts, public transit systems, and not-for-profit corporations that provide transportation in the geographic area of Muscatine and Scott Counties, Iowa and Henry, Mercer, and Rock Island Counties, Illinois.  Two members have business addresses within this coverage area but are providing services outside the Bi-State Region.

Current DATC members include:

Abilities Plus, Inc.

Alba Township

Alwood Comm School District

Andover Township

Annawan Township

Bettendorf Community School District

Bowling Township

Buffalo Prairie Township

Cambridge Community School District

Cambridge Township

City of Bettendorf

City of Blue Grass

City of Davenport

City of Durant

City of East Moline

City of Eldridge Power & Light

City of Kewanee

City of Muscatine

City of Silvis

City of Wilton

Clover Township

Coe Township

Drury Township

East Moline Elementary School District

Edington Township

Eliza Township

Galva Community School Unit

Galva Township

Greene Township

Hampton Township

Hanna Township

Henry County Highway Department

Kewanee High School District

Lynn Township

Mercer County Highway Department

Mercer Township Road District

Munson Township Road District

Muscatine City Transit/Muscabus

Muscatine County

Osco Township

Preemption Township

Project Now Head Start

Project Now Senior Center

River Bend Transit

Riverdale Community School District

Rivoli Township

Rock Island County Highway Department

Rural Township

Scott County

Silvis Elementary School District

Suez Township

United Township School District

Village of Atkinson

Village of Hampton

Village of Milan

Village of Orion

Waste Commission of Scott County

Weller Township

Wethersfield Community School District

Wilton Community School District

Wilton Municipal Light & Power